Board of Directors

The Woodlands Mutual Water Company (WMWC) of San Luis Obispo County is a corporation organized under the laws of California for the purpose of providing water and sewer services to property owners on approximately 957 acres situated on the Nipomo Mesa commonly known as The Woodlands.

WMWC was formed for the purpose of serving water to its shareholders at cost. The purpose of a mutual water company is not to make a profit, but to charge such fees and rates for the services it provides as are necessary to acquire water and to build, operate, and maintain a water and sewer system in the community.

WMWC is managed by a Board of Directors, which is elected each year at the annual meeting of the shareholders. The Board of Directors is responsible for the management and operation of the WMWC. It approves the rules and regulations for providing water and sewer service and sets the fees, charges, and rater for such service.

There are currently five members of the Board.

All shareholders are encouraged to attend the annual shareholders meeting. Notice is given to all shareholders prior to the meeting date.

Current Board of Directors

  • Chris Sorensen
  • Tom Ryan
  • Lonnie Ellisor
  • Jan Tabarez
  • Preston Holdner

General Manager



Each owner of a lot or parcel of land within the service area of the WMWC is entitled to be a shareholder. This includes residential, commercial, recreational and governmental properties, although the majority of shareholders will be the owners of residential homes built in The Woodlands.